The Democrat-controlled House voted on Friday to make Washington D.C. the country’s 51st state and rename it “Washington, Douglass Commonwealth,” replacing Italian explorer Christopher Columbus with Maryland-born abolitionist Frederick Douglas.

Precisely zero House Republicans voted for the bill, which passed 232 to 180. Democratic Rep. Collin Peterson (MN) – who voted against impeaching President Trump, voted no along with the Republicans, as did independent Rep. Justin Amash.

The bill is expected to die in the Senate, while Trump also opposes the move which would likely grant the new state two Democratic senators.

Read more…